Kenya set to open six new foreign missions including one in Hargeisa, Somaliland

Kenya is set to open seven new foreign missions in the latest reorganization of President William Ruto’s government.

According to Executive Order No.1 of 2023 by President Ruto, the seven new missions will be based in Djibouti, Bern, Arusha, Goma, Jakarta and Hargeisa (Somaliland).

The planned foreign missions in Arusha, Goma, and Bern will be second in Tanzania, the Democratic Republic of Congo, and Switzerland.

New missions in Djibouti, Indonesia (Jakarta), and Somaliland will the first for Kenya in the respective countries, according to Foreign Affairs ministry data.

The six new foreign missions will bring the number of Kenyan missions to 66 from 60.

The diplomatic missions will increase Kenya’s representation in foreign countries as the government seeks to double down on developing commercial, economic and cultural relations with other nations.

At the same time, the new missions emerge as Kenya increases its interests abroad, including the recent creation of a new State Department for Diaspora Affairs in the renamed Ministry of Foreign and Diaspora Affairs.

1 Like